壽司人氣的上升

江戶式的壽司是在又左衛門醋的大量供應和與兵衛握壽司的成功之下所誕生的。不僅僅是與兵衛的生意興隆,許多其他壽司攤販也都嘗到了大舉成功的滋味。直到某個歷史性的事件,諷刺地讓人們對壽司的「胃口盡失」。
 
約在 1833 年左右,大饑荒橫掃江戶地區。而隨著天保改革(軍事政府)的進行,奢侈品受到違禁,這導致壽司店受到攻擊。由於他們將目標瞄準受歡迎的商家,所以「被抓的即是好店」這句俗語成為了評估壽司品質的一種方法。
 
無論如何,風向球再次轉變,握壽司變得更加受到歡迎,且名聲從江戶一帶遠播至鄉下地區。到了明治時代 (1868) 初期,在與兵衛投入壽司業 40 年之後,他的握壽司終於達到全國性的規模。
 
若是沒有握壽司之父花屋與兵衛的創意加上中埜又左衛門的遠見(製造出醋的重要原料),現代的「壽司文化」也許就永遠不會誕生。
 
自這兩名優秀的人物交會並互展長才以來,壽司的歷史已發展超過170 年。隨著壽司口味的不斷進化,世界各地都出現了改良式的壽司。這股現代「壽司旋風」的歷史與 Mizkan(味滋康)有著直接密不可分的關係。

Sushi's Rise in Popularity


Edo-style sushi was born from the plentiful supply of Matazaemon's vinegar and success of Yohei's nigiri-sushi. Not only Yohei's business, but many other sushi stands also enjoyed vigorous success, until a historical event ironically "curbed the appetite" for sushi.

Around 1833, a great famine swept Edo, and with the reformation of the Tempo Shogunate (a military government), luxuries were banned, resulting in attacks on sushi shops. Since popular businesses were aimed at, the phrase "It's good if they've been caught" became a way to evaluate the quality of sushi.

At any rate, the winds of change blew once again, nigiri-sushi became even more popular, and its reputation spread from Edo to the countryside. By the beginning of the Meiji Period (1868), after he had been in business for 40 years, Yohei's nigiri-sushi had "arrived" on a national scale.

Without the creativity of Yohei Hanaya, the "father" of nigiri-sushi, coupled with the foresight of Matazaemon Nakano, who produced the essential ingredient of vinegar, the current "culture" of sushi might never have been born.

From the time these two men of excellence met and shared their talents, the history of sushi has developed over 170 years. As the taste of sushi has evolved, it has gained converts all over the world. The history of this modern "sushi boom" is directly tied to that of Mizkan.